In the state of California, the GenZe 2.0 is classified as a moped, and requires a M2 license to ride. To apply for your Class M2 license, make an appointment at your local DMV office and:
- Submit an original DL 44 application form. This form cannot be downloaded. Collect one at any DMV office, or have one mailed to you by calling (800) 777-0133.
- Provide a thumbprint.
- Have your picture taken.
- Pay the $33 application fee.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass the traffic laws and road signs test.
Or, skip the test at the DMV, and complete it as part of a CHP certified training and safety course. You will learn the rules of the road, how to ride safely in various conditions, and cut your time at the DMV in half. Find a location near you here.http://cmsp.msi5.com For riders in Oregon
In Oregon, the GenZe 2.0 is classified as a moped because the top speed is regulated to 30mph. You must register, insure, and wear a helmet when operating a GenZe 2.0. However, no additional motorcycle endorsement is needed (just a state issued driver’s license).
This means that no additional classes or tests are required to operate the 2.0 if you are a licensed driver in Oregon in good standing.
That said--scooter-specific education is always a good idea. If you would like to take a class on scooter riding and safety, check Team Oregon’s upcoming courses.